The wannabe perfectionist

image I am a wannabe perfectionist! A want to be the yummy mummy, the domestic goddess, the doting wife and the career woman.

In real life this is proving quite difficult, that doesn’t stop me from trying. I’m constantly running around with the hoover, rollers in my hair and child in my arms, this is whilst the dinner is cooking and I’m thinking about blogging and answering those makeup enquiries. This sounds so organised and like I’m doing it all. What I forget to mention is most of the time the child is crying, the dinner is burning and whilst I’ve just hoovered the living room the dog has just thrown up on the rug!

I get quite stressed in life when I’ve not getting everything perfect.

So when we found out baby number was on his/her way my husband gave me the talk. The talk consisted of ‘you’re going to be mother of a one year old and a new-born, you will have to accept that you can’t have it all perfect. You have to accept that on occasions the house will be a mess, you won’t have time shower some days and your carer may have to take a back seat for a little while’

This terrifies me! The idea of letting things slide but I can’t actually see how they won’t. At this moment in time I can’t even imagine being able to leave the house with a new-born and a toddler!

The question is can you do it all? We’ll soon find out. One things for certain I’ll have fun trying!

Are you doing it all? How’s it going? Or on the other hand have you accepted that you can’t do it all? What has taken a back seat? I’d love to hear from you all. X

4 thoughts on “The wannabe perfectionist

  1. I’ve decided you can’t have it all but as long as the baby is happy and the house is just about passable I can live with that. I’ve tried to make some things shorter eg the makeup routine, have a shower as soon as he naps etc. He won’t remember whether the carpet was always hoovered but he will remember that we played together. Personally I think most people that make it look perfect are hiding how hard that is from us!x

    Like

  2. I know just what you mean, after baby no2 I started my own business from home to combine work & childcare but it is hard trying to balance everything. Sometimes certain things have to take priority & that’s not a bad thing Good luck! x

    Like

Leave a Reply

