My Birth Story…

image image

As you know little Evie made an appearance on Sunday morning, I thought I’d share a little bit about my birth story… Although I won’t be going into too much detail as let’s be honest no one wants to read that!

If you follow my blog regularly you’ll know that with my first I had a pretty tough labour experience so was pretty anxious this time around.

After meeting with several consultants I made a birth plan and decided to go the natural route. I’m so glad I did!!!

My contractions actually started the Saturday before I gave birth, Yep that means I was getting contractions for nearly a week!!!! They kept stopping and starting, one minute painful and coming regularly the next nothing! Twice during that week my hubby and I got all ready to head to the hospital after my contractions were coming thick and fast for a few hours only for them to stop! So by the follow Saturday when they started again I honestly had given up and thought it was nothing! We went out with Louie for Lunch (although I couldnt eat a thing) had a walk around the shops then headed home around 3 o clock. By this point I’d been feeling pretty rough and contractions had been going for a while! But I just ignored them thinking Evie was playing tricks. It was only when I got to about 8 o’clock at night that it dawned on me that maybe it was something!

By 10 o’clock I was thinking ok maybe this is it, the mother in law came round to look after Louie and off we headed to hospital.

When we arrived our lovely midwife Emma did all the checks and kindly informed me that I was only 1cm dilated! Well I’m sure you can imagine how well that went down, 7 days of contractions and pain and only 1cm! A few tears flowed and then I pulled myself together and realised it was going to be a long night.

My midwife hooked me up to some fluids as unfortunately when I’m in pain I don’t eat, so I’d pretty much not eaten all week. This meant I was really dehydrated and my body had gone into starvation mode so that was why the labour was progressing so slowly and was so painful. If you’re expecting a baby and start getting contractions my tip to you is force some food down, not eating does you no favours.

After a few more hours of contractions, coming every 4 minutes, they were painful but I could cope with just breathing through. Finally things started to move, actually at an alarmingly fast rate. All of a sudden I went from 1cm to 6cm and my contractions were coming every 1-2 minutes; I hadn’t even had any gas and air or pain relief. I started on the gas and air and had an epidural! The epidural failed! Devastated . So we had to try again, thankfully this one worked although it had taken nearly 3 hours by this point and I was nearly 10cm.

An hour later and finally little Evie was born, there were a few hairy moments during the labour which I won’t go into but thankfully everything was ok and she is just perfect. So here is to a crazy life of a family of 4! (And 2 dogs!).

Expect plenty more posts from me with all the ups and downs!

Charlie xx

6 thoughts on “My Birth Story…

  1. Congratulations! She’s a beauty and worth all the hard work. My contractions were non-stop for 4 days so I feel your pain but at least you get something good to take home at the end of it! 🙂 x

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ah, congratulations! So glad you got the natural birth you wanted! Evie is gorgeous! Enjoy your time with your babies- they grow way too fast!! Xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

